Review: Twenty Boy Summer

Title: Twenty Boy Summer
Author: Sarah Ockler

“Don”t worry, Anna. I”ll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it.”
“Okay.”
“Promise me? Promise you won”t say anything?”
“Don”t worry.” I laughed. “It”s our secret, right?”

According to her best friend Frankie, twenty days in Zanzibar Bay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy ever day, there”s a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there”s something she hasn’t told Frankie-she’s already had that kind of romance, and it was with Frankie’s older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.

Beautifully written and emotionally honest, this is a debut novel that explores what it truly means to love someone and what it means to grieve, and ultimately, how to make the most of every single moment this world has to offer.

When I saw this book, the cover caught my eye. Well, mostly because it was my favourite colour (blue) but that counts, right? I picked it up and read the back and the reviews said that Sarah Dessen fans would love it. Man, were they right. It was an amazing novel, probably even better than most of Sarah Dessen’s. Sorry to say, but it’s true. It was well written, and I cried like four times… It’s a great book that brings up a lot of emotions and talks about the world of girls, and how it feels to lose to ones you love. Yes, there is death, but there’s also love, challenge, adventure, and humor. I definitely recommend this book for any girl out there. Boys… not so much.

A great read, it was truly amazing (in my humble opinion). Can’t wait to see more novels by her~!

Quotes:
‘What is the statute of limitations on feeling guilty for cheating on a ghost?’
-Narrator (Anna)

“Don’t move, Anna Reiley. Right now, everything is perfect.”
-Sam

‘When I kissed Sam, I was so scared of erasing Matt. But now I know that I could never erase him. He’ll always be a part of me – just in a different way. Like Sam, making smoothies on the beach two thousand miles away. Like Frankie, my voodoo magic butterfly finding her way back home in the dark. Like the stars, fading with the halo of the vanishing moon. Like the ocean, falling and whispering against the shore. Nothing ever really goes away – it just changes into something else. Something beautiful.’
-Narrator (Anna)

“What if I come back and I’m different, Anna? Sometimes you go to a place where everything is different, and everything you ever know changes, and no one ever looks at you the same?”
-Matt

‘Sometimes looking at Frankie is like seeing Matt through a glass of water – a distorted composition of him with all the right parts, but mixed up and in the wrong order. As I watch her sing his old song, I can’t shake the feeling that he just stopped by to say hello.’
-Narrator (Anna)

Leave a comment

Filed under Novels

Leave a Reply

