Review: The Immortal Series

Title: The Immortal Series
Book Titles: Evermore, Blue Moon, Shadowland, Dark Flame, Night Star, Everlasting
Author: Alyson Noel

After a car accident that wiped out her whole family, Ever has been able to hear people’s thoughts, see their life story with skin to skin contact, see people’s auras, and the ghost of her dead sister. Something that normal people shouldn’t be able to do. When Damon Auguste moves to town, she finds herself falling for him fast. She can’t understand the lure he has over her, but she’s happy falling. As she slowly unlocks the secrets of the immortals, she realizes she’s part of a different world of humans. Forever immortal.

To be honest, this series sucked. When I drew this from my old blog, I gave it a raving review, drooling over its awesomeness, but at the time, I had just finished the first novel. By the third novel I wanted to chuck it out the window. I was hoping that the series would redeem itself in the next few years, in the next few books, but when I couldn’t even force myself to finish the fourth book, I knew that it wouldn’t work out. It started out nice, the whole idea of it, and really, the first book could’ve just ended at the first book, I would have liked it much better… However, it didn’t. Instead, the series dragged itself out as long as it could and basically committed literary suicide. My friend S made it half way through this third book and gave up, while my 13 year old sister’s friend B wanted to burn it by the middle of the second. Some people out there give it raving reviews, but it just didn’t work for me. One too many people became immortal, villian is eh, their not allowed to touch in one of the books and it’s just… -sigh- Good try Noel, but you just didn’t sell this series to me one bit.

Quotes from Evermore:
“I don’t want to talk about it,: I say, blinking at the water globes that are now red and forming into a tulip.
“What do you want to talk about?” he whispers, gazing at me with those yes, two infinite pools luring me in.
“I don’t want to talk,” I whisper, holding my breath as his lips met mine.
-Ever and Damon

He pulls me into his arms, his touch calm and soothing, but unable to erase the truth. “I have to go,” he finally whispers. “But Ever, if you want to love me, if you truly want to be with me, then you’ll have to accept what we are. I’ll understand if you can’t.”
-Damon

Quotes from Blue Moon:
“You left me.”
Not realizing until I’ve said my final good-bye and closed the door behind me, that he’s not referring to the past.
He’s prophesying our future.
-Damon and Ever

“You can’t go back, Ever. You can’t change the past. It just is.” I squint,having no idea what she’s talking about. But just as I start to ask,she shakes her head and says, “This is our destiny. Not yours.”
-Riley

“Now, now.” He smiles, “Don’t you worry ’bout a thing. Damen’s right where you left him. Though I must say I can’t believe that you left him. I underestimated you. I had no idea. Though I can’t help but wonder how Damen would feel if he knew. I bet he underestimated you too.”
-Roman

Quotes from Shadowland:
“But while everything around us seems to be in a constant state of flux- people at their very core remained exactly the same. All of us still seeking the things we’ve sought all along- shelter, food, love, greater meaning-” He shakes his head. “A quest that’s immune to evolution.”
-Damon

“I’m after something far more esoteric than a virginal shag. Though, if you’d like, darlin’, I’m certainly up for the task.”
-Roman

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Amelia

     /  February 28, 2013

    loved it!!

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  May 1, 2013

    omggggg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Flash to the Past

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,030 other followers

  • Upcoming

    forbiddendancetourbanner-1
  • Goodreads

  • Facebook Page

  • This Twit and her Tweets

  • #bookstagrammer

    Blue! I love blue! 💙💙
-
#bookishbox : Monday
Blue books!
-
#maddiewalimay : Day 28
Blue ombre
-
I'm terrible at the colour wheel, so there's a kind of ombre thing going on to the left of this photo. Kind of.
-
I liked blue so much I decided to play catch up for the May 28th's challenge prompt hehe.
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #blue #maybookchallenge #prompts #bookstagrammer #booksofinstagram #booknerd #flowers #openbook #paper #bookishombre #book #favourite After a two week vacation in Florida, it's time to head home! I'm excited to get back to my book challenges and spring time weather. I don't know how y'all do it in Florida, it so hot 😰 Anyways, regular programming should be restored in the next few days, so look out for new posts and my June challenge choice! Have a good weekend friends~
---
#bookstagram #books #tbr #colours #red #universal #universalorlando #universalstudios #universalislandsofadventure #islandofadventure #disney #disneyhollywoodstudios #disneymagickingdom #disneyepcot #disneyanimalkingdom #pandora #avatar #harrypotter #littleinklings #cocacola #booksofinstagram #booknerd I'll play catch up on my challenges next week! I'll be home in two days 😄
  • Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository
  • Xpresso Book Tours
  • Extra Links

  • website tonight analytics
